Talula’s Barefoot Books Blog

A running commentary on life as an online bookstore owner after 25 years in Early Childhood Education.

Talula’s “Bookwise” Crash!

Posted by Talula on January 12, 2008

To those folks who have read a little about my blog; and have noticed something amiss on the Bookwise pages and posts: I have to finally speak out about what happened with that part of my site.

I joined Bookwise about 6 months ago and had really felt that I had found a wonderful addition to my children’s bookstore site. However; the beautiful picture that was painted on their virtual canvas turned out to be less than ideal match; at least for me. I have chosen to withdraw my association with BookWise; fully understanding that I may miss a golden opportunity to be in on a revolution in the bookseller and publishing industry. My reasons for many; but I think it really boiled down to 2. These are my own reasons and based on my my experiences with other organizations; both public & private in the business world. 

1) The public launch came before the product offering (The BookWise Bookstores) was ready to begin the fight for market share from Amazon & other big guns.  I firmly believe there should have been a longer development stage, before hitting the ground running against the giants.

2) I found the administrative & mgmt. details to functionally operate the bookstores was quite non-existent. While I did have some experience running an online bookstore with my original company for children’s books; the mktg materials sent to promote the business were unmanageable and security locked (rendering them useless), while the chats intended for training how to run the bookstore site functionality turned into online “getting to know you parties” instead of imparting useable info. Delays on the company blog were many when answering questions sent in by email.

That being said; I still think BookWise bookstores will eventually be a terrific offering to offset the major players on cost points, quantity of inventory and faster shipping. In a year or two, they may be gaining on the big guys and I hope everyone who manages to stay with the company through that time will be totally satisfied in the choice they have made to stick with BookWise. I simply couldn’t afford to financially wait out the lull in income while they prep & and ramp up for that tremendous fight for market share.

Well; that is all I have to say on this issue, at least publicly and I guess when it all comes out in the wash; nobody really cares. I just thought that since this blog is mainly about my journey on this online bookstore venture; John Q. Public should know that not every opportunity is right for you. Trying is what is important and the journey will always have its unforseen events. That does not mean you should give up on your plans, goals or dreams.

One Response to “Talula’s “Bookwise” Crash!”

  1. Talula said

    Kman: No! Paid in the monthly subscription cost to be a member of Bookwise; however, I had no mlm background and did not know the first thing about building a downline – my entry into that realm was strictly as a barter-type arrangement to pay for National ads seen by educators (supposedly to be millions) across the U.S. That is why I thought the offer for the online bookstore would be such a great addition to my original online bookstore. It was something I already knew how to operate! Alas! It was not as ready as BookWise claimed it to be.

Leave a Reply

 
